Detroit Lions



NFC North

Established: July 12, 1930; 88 years ago
First season: 1930
Play in Ford Field Detroit, Michigan
Head coach: Matt Patricia

Return to Teams


League championships

NFL Championships (pre–1970 AFL–NFL merger) 1935, 1952, 1953, 1957

Conference championships

NFL National: 1952. NFL Western: 1953, 1954, 1957

Division championships

NFL West: 1935. NFC Central: 1983, 1991, 1993

Playoff appearances

NFL: 1932, 1935, 1952, 1953, 1954, 1957, 1970, 1982, 1983, 1991, 1993, 1994, 1995, 1997, 1999, 2011, 2014, 2016



The Detroit Lions are a professional American football team based in Detroit, Michigan.

Establishment and History

They have been around for a long time. The team was founded in 1930 and is part of the National Football League’s National Football Conference (NFC) North division (NFL).

The team used to be called the Portsmouth Spartans, and they played in Portsmouth, Ohio. In 1934, though, they moved to Detroit and changed their name to the Lions.

The Lions have been in the NFL for a long time and have been through a lot. They have won four NFL titles in 1935, 1952, 1953, and 1957, as well as four conference titles (1952, 1953, 1991, and 1995). They’ve also won nine division titles, the most recent of which was in 1993.

Even with all of this success, the Lions have had trouble keeping up a consistent level of play, and they haven’t won a playoff game since 1991.

Home Stadium

Ford Field, which is in downtown Detroit, is where the Lions play their home games. The stadium opened in 2002 and can hold up to 65,000 people. Ford Field is known for its unique design. It has a huge glass wall that lets fans see the skyline of Detroit while games are going on.

Notable Players

Notable Players Here are just a few of the Lions’ most famous players:

  • Barry Sanders is thought to be one of the best running backs in NFL history by most people. From 1989 to 1998, he played for the Lions. When he retired, he was the third-best rusher in NFL history.
  • Calvin Johnson is one of the best wide receivers in NFL history. He is also known as “Megatron.” From 2007 to 2015, he played for the Lions. When he left, he had the most receiving yards in a single season (1,964).
  • Bobby Layne was the quarterback for the Lions when they won championships in the 1950s. He was known for being tough and being able to lead the team when things were important.

Head Coaches

Over the years, the Lions have had a number of head coaches, some of whom did a better job than others. Here are some of the most famous Lions head coaches:

  • Halas was the first head coach of the Lions. In 1935, he led the team to its first NFL championship.
  • Buddy Parker: In the 1950s, when the Lions won championships, Parker was their head coach.
  • Wayne Fontes: From 1988 to 1996, Wayne Fontes was the Lions’ head coach. In 1991, he led the team to its last playoff win.


Rivalries Since 1930, when they first played against each other, these two teams have been fierce rivals. The Chicago Bears and the Minnesota Vikings are also important rivals for the Lions.

Fan Base

The Lions have a loyal fan base that has stuck with the team through good times and bad. Fans in Detroit are known for being loyal and excited, and on game days, they pack Ford Field to cheer on their team.

Even though the Lions have had trouble over the years, their fans are still among the most loyal in the NFL.